A museum for the whole family

A heritage to preserve!

Come visit us by making an appointment

Stories to tell

Given the interest of the people around him and concerned about the importance of acknowledging Quebec’s heritage, Mr. Rodrigue decided to give everyone the opportunity to visit his museum by appointment and enjoy a guided tour by himself.

Today, the museum still occupies the same premises and continues to expand. The motto has become “A heritage to preserve” and the goal has always remained the same; to raise funds for multiple sclerosis research.

What to see

The museum features indoor and outdoor exhibits of heavy machinery, blacksmith and carpenter shops decorated with antique tools, displays of antique toys and scale models, a room with period artifacts, a showroom of vintage vehicles, and more.

#

The “p’tit train” of the Laurentians

This is the most popular room! Located close to the site of the former Christieville train station, visitors can follow the “p’tit train” as it travels through dioramas replicating places in the Laurentians, on one of the most beautiful G-Scale model train layouts in Canada.
#

Heavy machinery

This space is dedicated to Claude Rodrigue’s father. Here visitors can admire mechanical shovels and tractors, including Claude Rodrigue’s first bulldozer which is the subject of a very special story.

$

Vintage toys

This area is bound to make everyone nostalgic when they see all the old metal toys. A very impressive collection in a variety of shapes, sizes and colors reminds the older generation of the fond memories of childhood and amazes the younger generation.

$

The artisans' corner

Visitors can admire the superb work of Quebec artisans who have made beautiful hand-crafted wooden objects, including superb miniature sailboats.

#

The forge and woodworking shop

This is the most beautiful room in the museum. Visitors can see a whole array of beautiful antique tools used in the past by carpenters and blacksmiths to work wood and metal.

#

Daily life of the period

This is a space reminiscent of family life from another era and is dedicated to women and their importance in the family’s daily life.

$

Transportation on snow

Visitors can see several vehicles adapted for transportation on snow: snowmobiles, sleds and others, including a beautiful “snowplane” from 1939.

$

The lumbermen

A beautiful collection of saws, axes and other tools that were used by loggers to clear land in a previous era.

Upcoming events

Model train day

December 16, 2023
Follow the event! Once a month, model train enthusiasts meet. This is the opportunity to discover the museum’s miniature train which passes through representative places in the Laurentians. Reserve your place to find out everything about the P’tit train des Laurentides!

Come and see us!

All are welcome to come and visit these artifacts from another era. There is no admission fee; however, visitors are invited to show their appreciation by leaving a donation to support MS research and by signing the guest book.

CONTACT US TO PLAN YOUR VISIT

Un musée pour toute la famille

Un patrimoine à conserver!

Venez nous visiter en prenant rendez-vous

Des histoires à raconter

Devant l’intérêt des gens autour de lui et soucieux de l’importance de transmettre la reconnaissance du patrimoine québécois, M. Rodrigue a décidé d’offrir l’opportunité à tout le monde de visiter, sur rendez-vous, son musée et profiter d’une visite guidée par lui-même.

Aujourd’hui, le musée occupe toujours les mêmes locaux et continue de prendre de l’expansion. La devise est devenue « Un patrimoine à conserver » et la mission reste la même : Amasser des fonds pour la recherche sur la sclérose en plaques.

À découvrir au musée

On y retrouve des expositions intérieures et extérieures de machinerie lourde, des ateliers de forge et de menuiserie décorés avec des outils d’époque, des expositions de jouets antiques et de modèles réduits, une salle regroupant des objets de la vie courante d’époque, une salle de montre de véhicules de collection, et plus.

#

Le p'tit train des Laurentides

C’est l’espace le plus populaire! À partir de la station Christieville, les visiteurs peuvent suivre le « p’tit train » qui avance à travers des lieux qui rappellent les Laurentides sur un des plus beaux réseaux de trains miniatures à l’échelle G au Canada.

#

La machinerie lourde

Dans cet espace dédié au père de Claude Rodrigue, les visiteurs peuvent admirer pelles mécaniques et tracteurs, dont le premier « bulldozer » de Claude Rodrigue qui est le sujet d’une histoire bien particulière.

$

Les jouets d’époque

Les nostalgiques des beaux jouets en métal seront bien servis. Une impressionnante collection de jouets aux couleurs variées rappelle aux plus vieux les bons moments d’enfance, et émerveille les plus jeunes.

$

Le coin des artisans

Les visiteurs peuvent admirer le superbe travail d’artisans québécois qui ont fabriqué de leurs mains de beaux objets en bois comprenant, entre autres, de superbes voiliers miniatures.

#

La forge et la menuiserie

La plus belle pièce du musée. Les visiteurs peuvent y voir toute une panoplie de beaux outils antiques utilisés jadis par les menuisiers et les forgerons pour travailler le bois et le métal.

#

La vie quotidienne d’époque

C’est un espace rappelant la vie familiale à une autre époque qui est dédiée aux femmes et leur importance dans la vie quotidienne des familles.

$

Le transport sur la neige

Les visiteurs peuvent voir plusieurs véhicules adaptés au transport sur la neige : autoneiges, motoneiges, traineaux et autres, dont un beau « snowplane » de 1939.

$

Les défricheurs

Une belle collection de scies, haches et autres outils qui ont servi aux bucherons pour défricher à une autre époque.

Évènements à venir

Journée de trains miniatures

17 février 2024
Suivre l’évènement ! Une fois par mois, des passionnés de trains miniatures se rencontrent. C’est l’occasion de découvrir le train miniature du musée qui traverse des lieux représentatifs des Laurentides. Réservez votre place pour tout savoir sur le P’tit train des Laurentides !

Venez nous voir !

Tous sont invités à venir visiter ces objets d’une autre époque. Il n’y a aucun frais d’admission; toutefois, les visiteurs sont invités à démontrer leur appréciation en laissant un don et en signant le livre de témoignages.

ÉCRIVEZ-NOUS POUR PLANIFIER VOTRE VISITE